WWE Announces First-Ever Worlds Collide Tournament

WWE has announced a first-ever tournament called “Worlds Collide” that will take place during Royal Rumble Axxess in Phoenix, Arizona. This tournament will feature superstars from 205 Live, NXT and NXT: UK and will feature 15 superstars with 5 representatives from each brand. The winner will receive a title shot for any brand, meaning the winner can challenge for a title from either one of those brands.

The WWE Worlds Collide Tournament, which will be taped for a WWE Network special, kicks off with a 15-Superstar Battle Royal on Saturday, Jan. 26, at the 8 a.m. session of Axxess. The order of elimination in the Battle Royal will then determine the First-Round Matches for a 15-Superstar, single-elimination tournament beginning later that session. The Battle Royal winner will receive a first-round bye.

The tournament will continue at Saturday’s second session of Axxess, taking place from 1-5 p.m., before concluding at the final Axxess session on Sunday, Jan. 27, from 8 a.m.-12 p.m. Featuring a veritable who’s who from all three brands, the tournament will include the following Superstars:

From NXT:

  • Adam Cole
  • Velveteen Dream
  • Dominik Dijakovic
  • Keith Lee
  • Otis Dozovic

From NXT UK:

  • Mark Andrews
  • Tyler Bate
  • Travis Banks
  • Jordan Devlin
  • Zack Gibson

From 205 Live:

  • Cedric Alexander
  • Tony Nese
  • Drew Gulak
  • TJP
  • A Superstar to be named


S.A.M.’s Spiel: Well this is certainly an interesting idea to bring eyes to Royal Rumble Axxess and with the names announced, I have no idea who the favorite can be. Either person can win, and you can expect some amazing matches. I like this idea and I hope it can become a yearly event because this adds more to the Royal Rumble weekend. I hope that NXT: UK can grow as a brand and we could someday see an NXT vs NXT:UK Takeover event because that could be amazing on every level.